Germany '09

by a group of Germany's most acclaimed film directors

Germany '09


13 Short Films about the State of the Nation by Fatih Akin, Wolfgang Becker, Sylke Enders, Dominik Graf & Martin Gressmann, Christoph Hochhäusler, Romuald Karmakar, Nicolette Krebitz, Dani Levy, Angela Schanelec, Hans Steinbichler, Isabelle Stever, Tom Tykwer, Hans Weingartner.

A group of Germany's most acclaimed film directors has come together to create »Germany 09«, a very personal panorama of the social and political situation in their country today. »Germany 09« comes right in the middle of the social upheaval brought about by »Agenda 2010« on the path to the globalized 21st century, more than 60 years after the end of World War II, 40 years after the student uprisings of 1968, 30 years after the 1977's »German Autumn« and 20 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. The filmmakers: (in alphabetical order) Fatih Akin, Wolfgang Becker, Sylke Enders, Dominik Graf & Martin Gressmann, Christoph Hochhäusler, Romuald Karmakar, Nicolette Krebitz, Dani Levy, Angela Schanelec, Hans Steinbichler, Isabelle Stever, Tom Tykwer, Hans Weingartner. Free to choose the format and content, each of the participating directors presents his or her personal interpretation and filmic portrayal of how they perceive Germany today. The sequences, abstract or concrete, could range from short film to documentary, from essayistic to experimental. Director and co-initiator Tom Tykwer says about the project: »The film »Germany 09« combines around a dozen individual film sequences that depict how we experience our country today and how we position ourselves, what binds us, and where we are lead astray in this nation«. »Germany 09« was produced by Dirk Wilutzky and Verena Rahmig for Herbstfilm Produktion GmbH. Co-initiator and co-producer is the NDR (Doris J. Heinze and Eric Friedler) in cooperation with Arte (Andreas Schreitmüller). This project was funded by the Filmstiftung NRW, the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, the German Federal Film Board (FFA), the Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media (BKM) and the German Federal Film Fund (DFFF).


»First Day«
Scriptwriter / Director: Angela Schanelec
Director of Photography: Reinhold Vorschneider
Editor: Mathilde Bonnefoy
Sound: Andreas Mücke
Cast: Nina Monka

Scriptwriter / Director: Dani Levy
Director of Photography: Carl-F. Koschnick, Kai Rostásy
Editor: Anne Jünemann
Sound: Raoul Grass
Cast: Dani Levy, Joshua Levy, Hans Hollmann

»Being Murat Kurnaz«
Scriptwriter / Director: Fatih Akin
Director of Photography: Rainer Klausmann
Editor: Andrew Bird
Sound: Kai Lüde
Cast: Denis Moschitto, Kai Strittmatter

»The Unfinished«
Scriptwriter / Director: Nicolette Krebitz
Director of Photography: Patrick Orth
Editor: Bettina Böhler
Sound: Peter Schmidt
Cast: Helene Hegemann, Sandra Hüller, Jasmin Tabatabai

Scriptwriter / Director: Sylke Enders
Director of Photography: Inigo Westmeier
Editor: Dietmar Kraus
Sound: Peter Schmidt
Cast: Dennis Grawe, Karl Markovics, Anneke Kim Sarnau, Winnie Böwe, Bernd Birkhan

»The Road we don't walk together«
Scriptwriter / Director: Dominik Graf
Director of Photography / Director: Martin Gressmann
Editor: Katja Dringenberg
Sound: Andreas Mücke
Speaker: Jeanette Hain

Scriptwriter / Director: Hans Steinbichler
Director of Photography: Bella Halben
Editor: Niko Brinkmann
Sound: Alex von Zündt
Cast: Josef Bierbichler, Adriana Altaras, Tim Seyfi

»A Democratic Discussion at Designated Times«
Scriptwriter / Director: Isabelle Stever
Director of Photography: Rali Raltchev
Editor: Oliver Neumann
Sound: Silvio Naumann
Cast: Johanna Nagel

»Preventive Action«
Scriptwriter / Director: Hans Weingartner
Director of Photography: Bernadette Paassen
Editor: Dirk Oetelshoven
Sound: Matthias Richter
Cast: Christoph Jacobi, Claudia Geisler, Justus Carriere, Uwe Bohm, Helene Grass

»Feierlich Travels«
Scriptwriter / Director: Tom Tykwer
Director of Photography: Frank Griebe
Editor: Mathile Bonnefoy
Sound: Arno Wilms
Cast: Benno Fürmann, Eva Habermann

Scriptwriter / Director: Romuald Karmakar
Director of Photography: Frank Griebe
Editor: Johannes Weuthen
Sound: Paul Oberle, Bern von Bassewitz
Cast: Mahmoud Rahimzadiany

»Sick House«
Scriptwriter: Wolfgang Becker, Jan-Ole Gerster
Director: Wolfgang Becker
Director of Photography: Jürgen Jürges
Editor: Peter Adam
Sound: Kai Lüde
Cast: Peter Jordan, Andreas Hofer, Andreja Schneider, Arnd Klawitter, Edeltraut Schubert, Susanne Wuest, Alexander Khuon

Scriptwriter / Director: Christoph Hochhäusler
Director of Photography: Bernhard Keller
Editor: Anja Conrad
Sound: Benedikt Schiefer
Speaker: Hans-Michael Rehberg


Producers: Dirk Wilutzky, Verena Rahmig
Production: Herbstfilm Produktion GmbH
In co-production with NDR (Doris J. Heinze, Eric Friedler)
In co-operation with arte (Andreas Schreitmüller)
Supported by Filmstiftung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, Filmförderungsanstalt, Filmförderung Hamburg / Schleswig-Holstein, Beauftragter der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, Deutscher Filmförderfonds, Goethe-Institut

Technical Data

Format: 35 mm / 24fps / 1:1.185 / Colour / Dolby Digital
Length: 151 Min.
Original Language: German

Original title: Deutschland 09


Click here for the »Germany '09« artwork


Germany '09
Germany '09

Go back