The Exchange

by Eran Kolirin

The Exchange


A man comes home at a time of day he's never been there before. A time when the light hits it differently, when the humming of the fridge is the only audible sound.

A man comes home at a time he's never come home before and for a moment it seems to him like he has walked into the house of a stranger, empty and silent at a desolate mid-day hour.

A man comes home and all of a sudden can see fabulous and forgotten things. Dust particles swirling around in a white ray of light. An old price tag glued to the underside of the table.

A man comes home like a tourist and observes anew those things that make up his life. The parking lot, the stairs, the full mailboxes.

A man comes home and walks into his life at a time he's never been inside it, observing it with the eyes of the child he once was. And, once again, it is filled with mystery and magical hideouts. The corridors, the passageways, the boiler rooms.

A man stands by and observes his own life from the outside. But is this life still truly his own?


Born on the 4th of November 1973, In Tel Aviv, Eran Kolirin's feature film debut as a director, The Band's Visit, won him worldwide critical acclaim and over 50 prestigious awards around the globe, among them, the Un Certain Regard Jury Coup de Coeur Award in Cannes, and the European Film Academy Discovery Award.
Eran's first work for cinema was the screenplay for the film "Zur - Hadassim" for which he won the "Lipper Prize" for Best Script at the Jerusalem International Film Festival, 1999. In 2004, Eran Kolirin wrote and directed the TV movie "The Long Journey"

Filmography as a director
2010 »The Exchange« (feature film)
2007 »The Band’s Visit« (Bikur Ha-Tizmoret)
2004 »The Long Journey« (TV)


Rotem Keinan - Oded
Sharon Tal - Tami
Dov Navon - Yoav
Shirili Deshe - Yael


Written and directed by: Eran Kolirin
Cinematographer: Shai Goldman 
Editor: Arik Lahav-Leibovich
Casting: Orit Azoulay
Production designer: Yesim Zolan, Miguel Mirkin
Sound designer: Matthias Schwab, Gil Toren
Sound: Michael Busch
Costume designer: Doron Ashkenazi, Hila Bargiel
Producers: Eilon Ratzkovsky, Karl Baumgartner, Raimond Goebel, Yossi Uzrad, Guy Jacoel
Associate Producers:  Michael Weber, Meinolf Zurhorst
Produced by: July August Productions, Pandora Filmproduktion

in cooperation with ZDF / Arte
with the support of   Israeli Film Fund, Yes, Hessen Invest Film, Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, DFFF- Deutscher FIlmförderfonds 

Technical Data

35mm / 24 fps / 1:1.85 / Colour / Dolby SR 
Length: 94 min
Original Language: Hebrew

Original title: Hahithalfut 


Click here for the »The Exchange« artwork


The Exchange
The Exchange

Go back